Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Marine Fish Forums > Anemones & Clownfish
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 05/03/2009, 05:04 PM   #1
ebony1
Premium Member

Is this an Aiptasia Anemone? ID Help

Looking for a little ID help here.

I had a green bubble tip anemone that was lost in a turbo jet one night. About three weeks later I noticed what I thought was a baby anenome. Being a newbie I thought the anenome was an offshoot from the one that died and I began feeding it and it grew (picture attached). Now there are probably 30 (you can see a smaller one above the main 'anemome' in the picture). While at my lfs recently I asked their opinion and they were confident the 'anemone was an Aiptasia Anemone. I've searched online but the pictures I've seen don't have the same resemblance.

Any thoughts? Is this an Aiptasia Anemone? If yes, it looks like I'm in trouble.

Thanks in advance,

ebony1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/03/2009, 05:45 PM   #2
ladyonyx
Registered Member

It certainly doesn't look like aiptasia. But the rapid growth sounds like it. I'd say no

ladyonyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/03/2009, 05:57 PM   #3
jmadison
rebmeM deretsigeR

Mojano anemone, equally as invasive...

By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest. -Confucius

Current Tank Info: Construction Zone
jmadison is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/03/2009, 06:02 PM   #4
dudley moray
sisternofuselessknowledge

that looks like a bubble tip to me mojanos look like aiptasia with a more club shaped tentacle ,it could also be a mushroom of some sort

Current Tank Info: 90 gal south pacific biotope 40 gal sump/fuge ,65 gal rebuilding
dudley moray is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/03/2009, 06:04 PM   #5
dudley moray
sisternofuselessknowledge